XOXpert Review : The Do-Gooder by Jessie L. Star


Title: The Do-Gooder
Author: Jessie L. Star
Release Date: February 20, 2017
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, College Romance
Publisher: Pocket Star
Pages: 416
Format: eBook


A college girl tries to make up for her bad karma by doing one good deed for anyone willing to ask—a witty, sweet romance perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Abbi Glines.

Lara Montgomery is no good. Having been scorned by her classmates since high school, she’s used to it. From where she’s sitting, the one with more notches on the bedpost has more fun anyway. At least, that’s what she tells herself.

Really, a small part of her hopes that her massive amounts of bad karma can be neutralized by wearing her Do-Gooder hat—that thing she does where she’ll complete one good deed for anyone who asks. And she does an amazing job at it, if she does say so herself. Still, there’s one thing she knows she can’t make better, no matter how many problems she solves for other people: on the night her brother died, she was off hooking up with his not-so-single best friend, Fletch.

It’s been three years since that night, and Fletch just wants her to let it go. To him, her persistence with the good deeds only serves to remind everyone in their small university town about what they did. As it is, they can’t help but get into a heated argument every time they run into each other on campus. And yet, neither of them can seem to stop that pesky electricity that runs between them whenever they get too close….



I’m new to this author, but I was pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the writing was. The story was very well executed. I found myself immediately drawn to the plot and characters. The story itself was quite straightforward with no unnecessary drama. Although heartbreaking, it was also very real.

The main characters, Lara and Fletch, were great characters. They had a slow burn which could get frustrating at times, but the deep, meaningful journey made it all worth it in the end. The secondary characters were also good additions to the book. They really helped support the overall story.


The most interesting detail of this book was the format in which it was written. The heroine’s POV was told in the first person, but then we also get the hero’s POV in the third. It was a little strange, took some getting used to, and risky, which I admire. The emotion that exuded from certain scenes was striking. So many elements brought this story to life. This was such a wonderful read filled with depth and heart. I recommend giving this book and author a try.



Whilst digging through her childhood scribblings a few years ago, Jessie L Star (AKA star123) discovered a thrilling saga by her six year old self entitled 'Jessie has Lost her Sock'. This sweeping epic spanned all four corners of her childhood house in outback South Australia as the sock was hunted down (spoiler, it was in Jessie's bed all along). Many years later and the urge to write is still going strong, although lost socks have thankfully been replaced with a raft of characters destined to snark and banter at each other until, ultimately, falling in love.

Jessie studied Business at Uni where she primarily learnt that writing and talking were very much her thing and that dealing with numbers was very much not (although, honestly, what difference does a couple of zeroes in a spreadsheet make, really...?).



Comments